First Date = Success!

Standard

My date with Ray went quite well.  It was such a warm October night and so nice to eat outside.  Ray was right on time. I truly tried not to be greedy and kept my order to a minimum.  He was very generous telling me to order whatever I wanted. I had a delicious sake sangria, and some sushi. He was enjoying the food, and just when I thought we were done eating he ordered more sushi.  I told him I couldn’t eat another bite! We had a lot of laughs at how “chopstick challenged” I am!  He said the main problem is that I’m a lefty, and the chopsticks are for right handers only!

We had great conversation.  He is a very interesting man.  I thought he was only 40, but it turns out he’s 43.  There is something in the website that doesn’t allow you to go back and fix the age.  But he was up front with everything.  He is divorced (for some reason I thought he had never been married), no kids.  He wound up paying for dinner,  which wasn’t even a problem.

We then walked around and did some window shopping while we talked some more.   Ray was a perfect gentleman.  He opened doors, and walked on the outside of me during our stroll.  I had never heard of this!  He said it was something he learned when he was in the service.  I liked it……it was very cool!  Then we stopped for a coffee at the Coffee Bean.  I payed for that.  I told him since he got dinner, the least I could do was pay for the coffee.  After chatting there, we walked back to the parking structure.  He gave me a kiss on the cheek, a hug, and said we need to do this again.

Our date lasted about 3 hours!  I’m not super-duper attracted to him, but I’d be willing to give it a few more dates (if that happens) because he has so many other things going for him.  He’s really fun, intelligent,  and seems to have his head on straight!  We texted yesterday morning, and we both said how much we had a good time.  I would definitely welcome spending more time with Ray.

About 1datingmama

I'm a mid-fifty year old woman who's been divorced since 2006 after a marriage that lasted 18.5 years. I married the first man I slept with, because I didn't think anyone better was going to come along. The last 9 years of our marriage was void of sex, and any other interaction. Then one day it hit me, "I can't live like this anymore" and decided to leave. I'd rather be alone than with a man who disrespects and doesn't care about me. This is my story of my journey to finding my true soulmate.

Leave a comment